Presentation Night 2017 Features Up and Coming Stars


Saturday night the club celebrated the 2016/17 Presentation Night.  It was a lovely evening at the Waltzing Matilda Hotel, and a night that saw some young up and coming talent shine as awards were presented.

Emily Devine was a standout, the 14 year old junior league and women’s Thirds player taking home the coveted “Club Most Improved’ trophy plus the Women’s Thirds Best and Fairest.  She also won a trophy in her junior league team.

Hannah Jackson proved that hard work and persistence pays off, winning her first Billy Reay Trophy for the Best and Fairest player in the Division One Women’s Firsts.  An award that has been won by the likes of Shae Lillywhite, Jade Hough, Siobhan Taylor and Kelly Manzie (and many more), it is only fitting that after many years of hard work Jacko has earned the right to get her name written alongside many of the greatest players our club has produced.

For the men, young junior league player Adam Harris was awarded the Rookie of the Year award for his superb efforts in the Men’s Fourths this season.  Adam also won an award in his junior league team.

In a difficult year for our Men’s Firsts and Seconds, Jym Crowe was awarded the MVP for the Seconds, and Glenn Mascoll was able to secure his first Best and Fairest award, taking home the Stephen Wearne medal.

Well done to all award winners, and a special mention to Mandi Avent who took home the Best Clubperson trophy again, just reward for the amazing commitment she makes to our club year after year.

Thanks to all who turned up to celebrate a thoroughly enjoyable season.

2016/17 Big Cats Trophy Winners

Women’s Division One Firsts

Bill Reay Trophy “B&F” – Hannah Jackson

MVP – Sinead Flanigan

Best Finals Player – Simone Wearne

Men’s Division One Firsts

Stephen Wearne Medal “B&F” – Glenn Mascoll

Batting Award – Lucas Price

Men’s Division One Seconds

MVP – Jym Crowe

Men’s Division One Thirds

Thirds Player Award – Chris Castle

Thirds Player Award – Brandon Mize

Men’s Division One Fourths

MVP #1 – Mark Anderton

MPV #2 – Benny

Rookie of the Year – Adam Harris

Men’s Division Four – Fifths

Batting Award – Stuart Capel

Magnet Award – Simon Wainwright

Women’s Division Two

MVP – Rebecca Todd

Encouragement Award – Maddi Singleton

Women’s Division Three

B&F – Emily Devine

Encouragement Award – Baylin Rousell

Club Awards

Club Most Improved Player – Emily Devine

Best Clubperson – Mandi Avent

Club RBI Trophy – Stuart Capel (31)